Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #2: Lines: Legacy Transmission

Here’s another attempt at finding an unusual point-of-view, this time of a utility pole in the curb frontage in front of my house. Looking up, I lined up the wires diagonally to create a slash that cuts through sky and tree; this is what the legacy power infrastructure does for me – it dirties up the scenery, creating an eyesore, albeit one that we tend to take for granted. In the future we may be able to look forward to smart energy grids and smart consumption, but will the legacy ever disappear?

Sometimes I have to wonder why in the modern world it's still necessary to transmit electricity above the ground. For decades we've been hiding wires inside walls. What about the lines of transmission? There's nothing magic about visual pollution.
Sometimes I have to wonder why in the modern world it’s still necessary to transmit electricity above the ground. For decades we’ve been hiding wires inside walls. What about the lines of transmission? There’s nothing magic about visual pollution.

This post was prompted by the Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge.

 

23 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV, #2: Lines: Legacy Transmission

  1. I never think of taking shots of subjects up above. This is an interesting point of view.
    As to if we will ever stop seeing these power lines – I think it is a very long way off.

  2. Rob, I could not agree more! Right now there is a big fight going on here in New Hampshire over the “Northern Pass Project.” A series of transmission lines running from Canadian hydro-electric plants, through some of New Hampshire’s most scenic north country, bringing power to Connecticut.

    As far as I’m concerned, if CT wants cheap hydro power coming though NH, they can pay to burry the lines.

      1. I think we’d rather keep our scenic views. But yes, screwing up our state with no benefit is kind of a slap in the face. I’m no tree hugging environmentalist, but as a landscape photographer, the last thing I need is more power lines to work around. Especially when I wouldn’t benefit from them.

Feel free to share your thoughts!